[ Inscrivez-vous ]

Newsletter, Alertes

Four new members elected to CAF Executive Committee

Imprimer PDF

Casablanca, Morocco, February 3 (Infosplusgabon) -  The CAF Executive Committee has taken full shape in accordance with the statutory provisions, following the reform of the statutes adopted in Rabat, Morocco, in July 2017.


At the 40th CAF Ordinary General Assembly held on Friday, 2 February 2018 in Casablanca, four new members were elected on to the CAF Executive Committee, CAF said on its website.


Jamal Jaafri (North Zone), Augustin Senghor (West A Zone) and Sita Sangare (West B Zone) were elected by virtue of being the sole candidates in their respective zones for the slots vacated by members who held dual positions; FIFA Council and CAF Executive Committee, CAF said.


For the Central Zone, two candidates were contention, namely Edouard Patrice Ngaissona and Pierre Alain Mounguengui. Ngaissona, president of the Central African Football Federation polled 30 votes against 23 by Mounguengi, also president of the Gabonese Football Federation. There was one abstention.


The General Assembly was also an opportunity for CAF's 54 Member Associations to validate the accounts for the 2016-2017 budget year. The accounts reflected a cash balance of US$117 million, an increase of US$9 million compared to the previous year as revealed by CAF 3rd Vice President, Fouzi Lekjaa, who doubles as president of the Finance Committee.


“The cash flow situation is green and very comforting (…) enough to support the commitments of the CAF President,” Lekjaa said.


Commitments hitherto held as recalled by the president in his speech that allowed him to roll out the results of his first year in which a grant of US$100,000 was allocated to each Member Association and now the recent decision to cover the indemnities and other expenses of match officials. These are two decisions that will alleviate the burden on member associations.


The General Assembly also approved the Chairman and Vice-Chairman for the three Independent Bodies namely Disciplinary Board, the Jury of Appeal and the Audit and Compliance Committee.


However, the Executive Committee submitted to the General Assembly its willingness to continue consultations regarding the Governance Committee, and the names of Chairman and his deputy will be put to vote at the next Ordinary General Assembly next year.


Also in attendance were FIFA President Gianni Infantino, CONMEBOL President, Alejandro Dominguez, AFC Vice President Chung Mong-Gyu and a representative of the UEFA President.





© Copyright Infosplusgabon

Qui est en ligne!

Nous avons 6681 invités en ligne


Liaisons Représentées: